We are consulting on proposals for new property licensing schemes and are seeking your feedback on our proposals.

Property licensing schemes are intended to raise standards in the private sector, making landlords more accountable, improving property management and stabilising communities, tackling antisocial behaviour and poverty in communities.


Selective Licensing 

There are seven selective licensing areas in Newcastle.

All private rented properties within a selective licensing area require a licence unless they are otherwise exempt.

Five areas commenced in April 2020:

  • Cowgate
  • East End Terrace
  • West End Terraces
  • Howdene Road; part of Howlett Hall Road, Ravenburn Gardens and part of Swinley Gardens (HHRS) in Benwell
  • Scotswood Village


Two more started in October 2021:

  • Byker Old Town
  • Greater High Cross


Additional Licensing

All HMOs (houses in multiple occupation) in Newcastle will require a licence.

This means any property which is occupied by three or more people in two or more households with shared basic amenities will require a licence.


What we would like you to do

We are consulting on proposals which could see new selective licensing schemes in Lemington, Denton Court and Columbia Grange and amended schemes in Cowgate and the West End being put in place for another five years.

The plans also include a new additional licensing scheme for smaller HMOs across the whole city.

We would like to hear from anyone who lives or works in Newcastle or anyone who owns or manages a private rented property.

You can take part in the survey below.

If you have any queries about the schemes or the survey, or you need this information in a different format such as large print, please contact us at: Propertylicensing@newcastle.gov.uk

Please give us your views about this by 29 May 2024

You can find out more about property licensing schemes here.

Yours sincerely

Edwin Foster

Head of Public Safety & Regulation